Campus profile · DC-062

IREN Woods County Campus

A crypto-mining / HPC campus by IREN in Alva, OK, on the SPP grid. Status: announced.

Announced1,600 MWCampus potential
Expected by 2030336 MWWeighted by build stage
Gas burn21.9 MMcf/dAverage day
Impact rating2 of 4Grid driven

Grid and gas impact

At full buildout this campus is announced at 1,600 MW. After phasing to 2030 and weighting by build stage, the index expects about 336 MW running by 2030. That is about 0.6% of the SPP 2025 peak (56,000 MW).

At that level it would use about 2,208 GWh of electricity a year, roughly what 205,000 US homes use (EIA average of about 10,800 kWh per home), and add about 21.9 MMcf/d of natural gas burn on an average day, counting both on-site generation and the region's gas-fired power plants.

Its rating is driven by grid load: power is expected to come mostly from the utility grid, so the effect shows up in transmission, capacity and generation needs, and in the gas burned by the region's power plants. Rated 2 of 4 bolts. Outlined bolts mean the campus is approved, announced or proposed and may not be built as planned.

Fact sheet

Index ID
DC-062
Campus
IREN Woods County Campus
Developer / tenant
IREN
Segment
Crypto / HPC
Location
Alva, OK
State / province
Oklahoma
Country
United States
Metro
Non-metro
Grid region
SPP
Electric utility
TBD
Status
Announced (counts 35% toward 2030)
Online / target
Not disclosed
Announced capacity
1,600 MW (Campus potential)
Expected load by 2030
336 MW (index estimate)
Annual energy at expected load
about 2,208 GWh
Power supply
Not disclosed
Added gas burn, average day
21.9 MMcf/d (index estimate)
Impact rating
Grid (2 of 4; scale)
Confidence
C (One secondary source)
Last reviewed
November 3, 2026

Sources

Every source used across the index is listed in the source log. Spotted an error? Email [email protected] with "Correction: DC-062" in the subject.

How to cite

Data Center Index (datacenterindex.info), Discovery Energy. "IREN Woods County Campus" (DC-062), https://datacenterindex.info/campuses/dc-062-iren-woods-county-campus/, updated November 3, 2026.